Home / Blog / 

Award ceremony for the 56th Adult Education Television Prize for 2023 and the Axel Corti Prize 2024 at the RadioKulturhaus

The 56th Adult Education Television Awards were presented on 25 June 2024 at the RadioKulturhaus in Vienna. Prior to this, the jury - consisting of representatives from print media, the Conference of Adult Education (KEBÖ) and a representative from academia - had the task of selecting the winners from fourteen productions nominated for the awards.s

The following contributions were honoured with the Adult Education Television Awards this year:

Discussion programmes and talk formats category:

The "What the Fem?"/W24 contribution "Why are you committed to the bodypositivity movement, Ina Holub?" by Juliane Ahrer, Monika Jungwirth, Raphael Mikl and Sheila Poor.

Documentary category:

"Where heaven and earth meet", an ORF 2 feature by Andreas Gruber.

Television film category, including series, fiction, docu-fiction and edutainment:

A jukebox contribution from Okto TV: "Common Ground" by Sonja Aufreiter and Nevo Caplan.

Programme formats, series category:

An ORF 2 contribution by Patrice Fuchs and Ernst Pohn entitled "Zwischen Lüge und Wahrheit".


The Axel Corti Prize 2024 was awarded to the renowned author and filmmaker Ruth Beckermann. Ruth Beckermann, who has repeatedly distinguished herself with profound analyses of various social grievances in Austria, was honoured by KEBÖ with the Axel Corti Prize 2024 for her stimulating, socially critical and awareness-raising work. More information on the prizewinner in the OTS press release on Ruth Beckermann: tinyurl.com/4wew3f6s


John Evers concluded the fitting presentation of the television awards with an appeal for more courage in and for critical media education in Austria: "Please continue to work on quality television and on in-depth and complex analyses, images and texts and thus contribute to improved media literacy for all. In doing so, you will promote our democracy and stand up for independent thinking, questioning and criticism, which is now and always has been one of the greatest assets of civil society engagement."


The awards were presented by representatives of the award-winning associations of the Conference of Adult Education (KEBÖ) - Gabriele Hofer-Stelzhammer for the ARGE Bildungshäuser, Michael Sturm for the Austrian Vocational Training Institute, Marie Therese Stampfl for the Austrian Library Association, Andreas Gutenthaler for the Forum of Catholic Adult Education, Florian Herzog for the Rural Further Education Institute, Georg Primas for the Ring Österreichischer Bildungswerke, Sandra Trimmel for the Association of Austrian Trade Union Education, Lukas Laurin Oppermann for the Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft, Monika Reif for the Association of Austrian Adult Education Centres and Svetlana Stojsic for the Economic Development Institute of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber.


The evening was opened by the current KEBÖ Chairman Bernd Wachter from the FORUM of Catholic Adult Education. Programme Director Stefanie Groiss-Horowitz then welcomed the guests on behalf of ORF. The evening was hosted by the Secretary General of the Association of Austrian Adult Education Centres and spokesperson for the jury, John Evers.


Text: ots.at

Photo: © ORF/Günther Pichlkostner

[Translate to Englisch:] Die Preisträger*innen der 56. Fernsehpreise der Erwachsenenbildung | © ORF/Günther Pichlkostner